Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tell Courtney What Laptop To Buy

Default Tell Courtney What Laptop To Buy

I need to buy a new laptop, and I get the sense that some of you know a lot about computers. (Or, at least you know more than I do, which isn't hard.) I don't even know whether to get a Mac or PC, so I'm starting from square one.

It needs to be lightweight for carrying around when I'm traveling, and it needs to be able to work quickly with big, high-resolution pdfs and powerpoints for conference presentations. And a long battery life would be good for use during archival research. I have no idea what else would be relevant for making this choice. Help? Suggestions? Do you own a laptop you love that you'd recommend?

Default Re: Tell Courtney What Laptop To Buy

I'd always recommend Mac for sure...they're pricey but I believe you get what you pay for

I was a PC/Network Tech for about five years. Honest advice? Get a Dell, get the best warranty they have, and have a geeky friend of yours erase all the shit Dell does to the machines they send out.

Biggest problem with laptops is that they're very vulnerable, and it doesn't take long before something's fucked with the motherboard, and if you don't have a warranty then it means you might as well buy a whole new laptop. Dell has the best warranty repair service, but the way they load their machines down with software sucks horribly.
    Quote Originally Posted by schoolofruckus View Post
    Look, your parenting is yours and Randy's business alone.
    Fans of TheLastGreatMan Accessory Shop

Quote Originally Posted by RockStr4Life View Post
    I'd always recommend Mac for sure...they're pricey but I believe you get what you pay for
    /end thread
    Quote Originally Posted by breakjaw View Post
    I hope noone stab me with belt bucklez while I line dancing so fast in Skoal Tent,please peoplez!

Buy the most expensive Dell you can afford and get the best warranty. You will never regret it.