Thread: What a Life

Default What a Life

For those who may remember, I did some writing/reviews for Garage Radio last year. The person who got me that gig was my neighbor, Mary Ellen. She was the Press Director for the site, and when she found out I was a musician and could write, she gave me a shot. Really opened some doors for me.

Last night, at 10:15 PM, Mary Ellen lost a 4 month long battle with brain cancer. She was only 55. I was there at the end, along with my wife, her husband, daughter, and friends. She was an amazing person. One of the most unique I have ever met, or will meet.

She was diagnosed in late January. At the time, the Doctor told her that only 5% of all people survive this cancer. Survival basically means remission. It will come back at some point. He also told her that more than likely, she had about 3-4 months to live. She didn't care. Her outlook was great, and she insisted that she was going to beat it. I can tell you she put up one Hell of a fight.

When I first met her, after we moved in next door, I thought, "Who is this bizarre lady?" Hair a burnt red/orange (what little she had...to call it "wispy" would have been stretching it), walking around with a plastic cane filled with blue sparkles ( I later found out that she had other color sparkles, and would change them out when it fit her mood). She loved heavy metal music. Hard core, metal music (Lamb of God, and Mower were some of her favorites). I later found out she also loved the Beatles, the Beach Boys, and other 60's icons. That's where we hit it off; our love of music. She would talk about the bands she liked with such passion. Even if it was a band that I wasn't into, I would nod my head in agreement because I have that passion about the bands I like too. I got what she was saying.