Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Lack of Metal

Default Lack of Metal

I'm new to Coachella, so maybe I don't understand all the musical choices, but why are there no metal bands at the festival? I don't mean crappy mainstream metal, but I think some good underground bands might fit in well with the rest of the atmosphere at Coachella. I could possibly be wrong and someone can enlighten me.

Default Re: Lack of Metal

I agree... Tool headlined last year, but that probably doesn't fit the perfect definition of metal. I would love to see BORIS play. Or Mastodon. In theory, I think Metallica could headline, but there would be a lot of unhappy people.

Like punk, metal is definitely underrepresented at Coachella. It's more of an indie vibe, but I think they could expand their horizons a bit. It's still the best music festival in the world!!!
    Buy the ticket, take the ride.

it's just not that kind of festival is it? i think it is meant to be a lot more laid back.

It's because "Goldenvoice is afraid of to Rock Coachella??"

Coachella is essentially an indie/electronic/underground hip hop festival with a few headliners to ensure more than 800 people show up.
    Last edited by fober; 02-02-2007 at 10:41 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by PsyGuyRy View Post
    I agree... Tool headlined last year, but that probably doesn't fit the perfect definition of metal. I would love to see BORIS play. Or Mastodon. In theory, I think Metallica could headline, but there would be a lot of unhappy people.

Like punk, metal is definitely underrepresented at Coachella. It's more of an indie vibe, but I think they could expand their horizons a bit. It's still the best music festival in the world!!!
    if Metallica headlined coachella it would be the end of the world

Mastodon
    Pelican

that's all I ask for