PDA

View Full Version : Windows 8

gaypalmsprings
06-26-2012, 05:59 PM
Last weekend I took advantage of the free Windows 8 beta download. I have been using Vista on my computer for the last 3 years, and got blue screens galore.

I love Windows 8. It takes some getting used to, for example there is no "start" button. But it is very speedy and has lots of fun options. I had to reinstall some programs, but all the data was still there - it wasn't erased with the update. Of course, I backed everything up on an external hard drive. So far no blue screens, but it's flakey at shutting down.

Anyone else done the beta update yet? I'm looking forward to the release of the real Windows 8.

TheWatcher
06-26-2012, 07:27 PM
I resist change for the sake of change. :) I just updated from Windows 2000 to Windows 7, only because my motherboard died. After 3 months, I still haven't found ways to fix all the quirky behaviors.

Is there really no way to get a start menu?

menikmati
06-26-2012, 08:36 PM
There are ways to get the standard start menu (in the desktop view) back in Windows 8....it's actually a simple "hack"/edit...probably easy to just Google for it.

Drinkey McDrinkerstein
06-26-2012, 08:40 PM
I resist change for the sake of change. :) I just updated from Windows 2000 to Windows 7, only because my motherboard died. After 3 months, I still haven't found ways to fix all the quirky behaviors.

Is there really no way to get a start menu?

Hey TheWatcher, this seems pretty straightforward.
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/2227/get-the-classic-start-menu-in-windows-7/

TheWatcher
06-26-2012, 08:56 PM
Hey TheWatcher, this seems pretty straightforward.
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/2227/get-the-classic-start-menu-in-windows-7/

Yeah, I found that, have it installed. It was one of the first things I did. There are some little problems with it I haven't figured out yet, for example the search box doesn't work.

lehorne
06-27-2012, 08:50 AM