PDA

View Full Version : does size really matter??



caco0283
03-08-2007, 09:16 AM
I don't know if I want to get the 15 inch mac book pro or the 17 inch mac book pro....i would like the 17 but im already beefing up on getting 200gb hard drive and 3gb sdram

any thoughts though on the 17 or 15 inch

bartelby
03-08-2007, 09:17 AM
its all about the width

TomAz
03-08-2007, 09:17 AM
I have an IBM thinkpad x60 which is the smallest they make, but I have a 2-" monitor for when I'm docked in the office.

I'd say get the small one if you will be hauling it around a lot but the big one otherwise.

caco0283
03-08-2007, 09:17 AM
that really didnt help me

caco0283
03-08-2007, 09:19 AM
see im going to get the 23 inch hd monitor for when im at home...so maybe it would make sense to just have the 15 inch so i can lug it around easier....but i dont know if 2 inches makes that much of a difference

TomAz
03-08-2007, 09:20 AM
well I can't speak for Macs but for my IBM I believe it makes a difference.

bartelby
03-08-2007, 09:21 AM
it actually does make a dif...especially if you don't have a computer bad specifically for it...i mostly use backpacks, etc but my 17inch doesn't really fit in some of them...

chairmenmeow47
03-08-2007, 09:22 AM
think about how often you're going to be transporting the laptop. my laptop doesn't really leave my house unless i'm going on vacation or have an essay-type final, so i went with a 17" widescreen. if i had to transport the thing to work every day or something, i would have probably gone with something smaller.

DeltaSigChi4
03-08-2007, 09:22 AM
http://www.suzukinet.com/images/diary199805-2.JPG/godzilla.JPG

E

adamnikyo
03-08-2007, 09:24 AM
What is an "hd monitor"? Is it more than 1080 vertical resolution? Is that what makes it HD? I've never heard of that.
I'm going to agree with Tom and recommend the smaller notebook.

downingthief
03-08-2007, 09:27 AM
see im going to get the 23 inch hd monitor for when im at home...so maybe it would make sense to just have the 15 inch so i can lug it around easier....but i dont know if 2 inches makes that much of a difference

If you already have the 23" at home, get the 15". The 17" will be much heavier.

TomAz
03-08-2007, 09:29 AM
What is an "hd monitor"? Is it more than 1080 vertical resolution? Is that what makes it HD? I've never heard of that.
I'm going to agree with Tom and recommend the smaller notebook.

I thought it meant the shape. which of course has nothign to do with definitional quality, it's just a marketing thing. monitors are already "HD".

caco0283
03-08-2007, 09:30 AM
think about how often you're going to be transporting the laptop. my laptop doesn't really leave my house unless i'm going on vacation or have an essay-type final, so i went with a 17" widescreen. if i had to transport the thing to work every day or something, i would have probably gone with something smaller.

well i take my laptop with me everywhere i go cos i need it on set...in the office...or in the post room....i have a man bag i put it in


What is an "hd monitor"? Is it more than 1080 vertical resolution? Is that what makes it HD? I've never heard of that.
I'm going to agree with Tom and recommend the smaller notebook.

its actually called a 23-inch HD Cinema....these are the specs from the apple site:

23-inch (viewable)
1920 x 1200 optimal resolution
16.7 million colors
DVI Display Connector
2 port USB 2.0 Hub
2 FireWire 400 ports



i need to get that cos i just bought a HDV camera and need to view my work in HD

caco0283
03-08-2007, 09:32 AM
heres the specs for the 30 inch....but im not spending 2 grand on that thing

30-inch (29.7-inch viewable)
2560 x 1600 optimal resolution
16.7 million colors
DVI Display Connector
2 port USB 2.0 Hub
2 FireWire 400 ports

adamnikyo
03-08-2007, 10:15 AM
Damn, that's some hi-res.
Is your camera, 720p or 1080p?
If it's 720p, practically any monitor is high enough resolution.

caco0283
03-08-2007, 12:01 PM
it records 1080i

this is the camera

http://reviews.cnet.com/Sony_Handycam_HDR_FX7_camcorder_Mini_DV_HDV/4505-6500_7-32065017.html

wmgaretjax
03-08-2007, 12:11 PM
I have the 23 in monitor. and opted for the 15in mbp. I'm very happy with my choice. my room mate has the 17 and it's huge. a hassle to take around.

boy do I love my cinema display...

caco0283
03-08-2007, 12:14 PM
yeah im excited to get it.....i have one on my desk right now and everything i do in motion just looks so damn nice on it....when i played it on my 15 inch powerbook it just didnt do it justice.....so yeah im convinced to get the cinema display

if anyone has any tips on stop-motion do give em....i might make a thread on it...but for now just throw the tips on here

wmgaretjax
03-08-2007, 12:24 PM
stop motion animation?

caco0283
03-08-2007, 12:46 PM
yeah

wmgaretjax
03-08-2007, 01:12 PM
Well, I've done a couple stop motion shoots and the best way is to build some kind of trigger. You can set up the trigger to a timer, or to some kind of manual switch. The project I worked on we used a timer that was set to 10 seconds (we had everything prepared and rehearsed and ran through and shot it in chunks. worked really quickly, but most projects will need more substantial time). The captured images can be routed to an image sequencer that will merely build a full res movie file. Granted we were using a high speed medical camera that a trigger was built for, but you can do this with any decent camera.

Out of curiosity, why are you using motion? After Effects is almost always superior (pricier, but easy to find on the net if you are ok with that).

caco0283
03-08-2007, 01:15 PM
ive been toying with motion cos ive never used it before....i like to know as many programs as possible....i love after effects....its what ive been using for the past couple years on my powerbook but i just upgraded my final cut pro to the whole suite and it came with motion...so i figured ill learn it.

wmgaretjax
03-08-2007, 01:18 PM
it does some really cool type related stuff (easier to use than after effects for sure).

I've found that if I'm doing some strange title sequence type related stuff, I might use motion for some parts. After Effects tends to reign supreme most of the time though.

caco0283
03-08-2007, 01:25 PM
i dont quite understand your trigger idea...im using my nikon d200

i know its going to take practice to figure out how far to move everything so its a fluid motion but any idea how to make the first couple of rounds easier

wmgaretjax
03-08-2007, 01:33 PM
With that it's merely practice. With most cameras you have a single shot capturing capability. You can write an easy script that will capture those on command (with the camera mounted to a laptop) to an image sequence. Not sure if your camera does. The camera we used a guy hardwired, which is a little trickier.