PDA

View Full Version : why can't I...?



fiopadp7791
03-02-2010, 03:25 PM
...post a picture on this message board?

Even when using the "Insert Image" icon, and enter in the URL, it still doesn't work...

Granted- I know next to nothing about computers and I'm probably just a moron (actually... I am), but what am I missing?

faxman75
03-02-2010, 03:26 PM
I think you covered it.

Hannahrain
03-02-2010, 03:26 PM
http://www.foundmagazine.com/images/finds/full/chapter1.jpg

chairmenmeow47
03-02-2010, 03:26 PM
type:

[ I M G ]

http://www.imageurl.com

[ / i m g ]

only remove all the spaces.

maybe it's your URL that's fucked?

Theijuiel
03-02-2010, 03:28 PM
...post a picture on this message board?

Even when using the "Insert Image" icon, and enter in the URL, it still doesn't work...

Granted- I know next to nothing about computers and I'm probably just a moron (actually... I am), but what am I missing?

Insert URL into your web address bar. If it shows up as a pic on a blank page, it is working. If it doesn't, retrace your picture upload steps and try again.

TomAz
03-02-2010, 03:29 PM
yeah you don't want the URL of the website you're looking at. You want the URL of the actual picture.

so it probably won't end in ".com" -- probably end in ".jpg"

see a pic you want to post, right click it, properties, address, then post that address the way Ivy said.

fiopadp7791
03-03-2010, 01:45 AM
http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/8987/grandole.th.jpg (http://img28.imageshack.us/i/grandole.jpg/)

Thanks for the advice guys... And especially to Theijuiel for clarifying further in chat. I knew I deserved flaming for this, but the constructive flaming helped. Have a good one y'all

Distorted_Jungle
03-03-2010, 06:54 AM
If you are on a mac just hold control and click the picture and select the "copy image address" option and use that URL

If on a PC, right click on the picture and go to properties and copy the URL in there and use that.

I hope this helped somewhat.

fiopadp7791
03-03-2010, 02:24 PM
I ended up using imageshack. Thanks for the help guys.

juloxx
03-03-2010, 04:12 PM
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/epPipE4z95I&hl=en_US&fs=1&color1=0x006699&color2=0x54abd6"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/epPipE4z95I&hl=en_US&fs=1&color1=0x006699&color2=0x54abd6" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

gaypalmsprings
03-03-2010, 04:17 PM
http://www.explodingdog.com/drawing/whycantitouchit2.gif

TomAz
03-04-2010, 07:06 AM
m5SNoTRTeJQ

M Sparks
03-04-2010, 07:38 AM
If you are on a mac just hold control and click the picture and select the "copy image address" option and use that URL

If on a PC, right click on the picture and go to properties and copy the URL in there and use that.

I love that a Mac user (I'm assuming) picked an incredibly roundabout way to do something on a PC. This explains why they think Macs are simpler.

In Firefox...Right click, then "copy image location". Which is even simpler than Mac, because you don't have to hit Control. I don't use IE, but I know they use different terminology...like "target" for "link". You shouldn't be using IE anyway.

thisdj
03-04-2010, 08:49 AM
ha!

fiopadp7791
03-04-2010, 10:48 AM
hehe hopefully It can be educational for someone else, because you guys done tought me well... Me go lern inglish now.

shotglass75
03-04-2010, 10:58 AM
SO WHAT'S THE FUCKING PICTURE!!!!!?!?!?!?!!?!?

fiopadp7791
03-04-2010, 11:12 AM
SO WHAT'S THE FUCKING PICTURE!!!!!?!?!?!?!!?!?

you mean the one I wanted to post? Well it was just more a general question. I see you guys do it all the time, and I didn't know how. I did post some pics of me in the "post your pictures" thread, but unless you wanna see a freak-show, it's not worth going back a few pages of that thread to find me.

Leeartlee
03-04-2010, 12:03 PM
I find it very troubling this is some peoples first message board. Way to dive in head first.

fiopadp7791
03-04-2010, 12:41 PM
hehe it's not my 1st message board. But being a self-deprecating moron makes it easier for me when I already know I'm gonna get flamed. I just expose my ignorance on even the most basic of computer tasks out there. As I said in previous post in this thread- "TY for the constructive flaming" lol. I mean I got flamed, but I learned too hehe.

fiopadp7791
03-04-2010, 12:46 PM
I mean Guedita (thanks again btw) took a half hour explaining to me how to explain how to download a Mylo mix torrent and get it to work on my computer. Her directions were fine. I'm just that... inept... what should've taken 30 seconds took 30 minutes and about 10pms back and forth