PDA

View Full Version : Volunteering At The Coachella Festival

ali_robertson101
02-02-2010, 07:30 PM
This is my first year going to coachella. I'm interested in volunteering to get a free pass and campsite but I'm worried it will hinder the full experience. So, anyone who has volunteered before, is it a good idea?

OnlyNonStranger
02-02-2010, 08:58 PM
You still have to front the money.

vogina
02-02-2010, 10:24 PM
You still have to front the money.

not really.

if you are working for a cool vendor, chances are you will all rotate or just watch you want to watch & still be reasonable. your working at the same time, what did you expect?

zajaa
02-02-2010, 10:26 PM
i worked as an intern the last two years and i would not do it unless you are really strapped for cash. the gamble of possibly missing bands you want to see really messes up the weekend.

el_ornelas
02-04-2010, 03:33 PM
did you fill out the apps yet? me and some friends are doing it for the first time. only i have been there before as a paying member of the audience.

it seems that if you organize yourself well and really sell yourself within your skills/interests/etc. you can get a pretty good schedule, without working everyday or missing a lot of the concert each day. it offers dates to work a week in advance (probably set up) and a day or two afterwards (breakdown). if there were like 5 HUGE artists i would NOT want to miss, then i would avoid it because you probably won't get to see more than 2 if you're lucky. the app asks you to name 3 acts you don't want to miss, but leaves it open to the possibility you may not get to see all for various scheduling reasons.

my friends are broke and i need to save money for a traveling the next month. anyway, if shit doesn't work out and you want to quit, it seems you'll be in anyway, but just paying for everything like the general audience.