PDA

View Full Version : what the fuck is a WEP key and how do i retrieve the fucking thing.



Mr.Nipples
06-10-2009, 03:44 AM
i can't get into my network because i forgot my wep key. can somebody please tell me in terms for the most computer illiterate on how i can go about retrieving or resetting this information. i don't need to reset a whole bunch of shit or anything like that, its obviously recognizing my network in the airport dock but just wont let me get into the motherfucker. i called comcast and they once again assured to me that they have the largest team of fucking retards working for them and im going to call apple in the morning but figured id ask here before i lose my mind dealing with an automated robot. this is for a mac by the way.

Mr.Nipples
06-10-2009, 03:50 AM
this shit is pissing me off.
<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/RfiQYRn7fBg&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/RfiQYRn7fBg&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>

stuporfly
06-10-2009, 04:09 AM
On a good day I'm a nearly functional idiot, a trait which reveals itself most glaringly when it comes to shit about computers. However, I've dealt with what you're going through before. I will not pretend to understand what any of it means, nor can I tell you how to actually retrieve a WEP key. All I know is that when it happened to me, the Time-Warner Cable drone onthe other end of the line told me to try entering my telephone number. And it worked. At least I think it worked. My memory of those events is admittedly hazy, as my eyes glaze over when technical jargon gets bandied about.

I guess what I'm saying is that it's possible whoever set up your network knew you might have to do this shit one day and entered in a number you'd be able to figure out rather quickly. Maybe.

Best of luck.

Young blood
06-10-2009, 06:46 AM
On most modems they have a reset button on the back. I think comcast can reset it for you also by sending out a signal. I just leave mine open because of shit like this.

shakermaker113
06-10-2009, 06:57 AM
if you plug your computer directly into the router with an ethernet cable, open a browser and browse to the gateway IP, you can edit the password and other settings.

to find your gateway IP, after plugging in to the router click start --> run. type 'cmd' and hit enter. in the terminal that opens type ipconfig and hit enter. it will tell you your default gateway.

gaypalmsprings
06-10-2009, 07:16 AM
Connect a computer to a wired connection on the router. Point your browser at http://192.168.1.1/ That should take you to the admin interface of the router. If that doesn't work, check the documentation that came with your router --- it will give you the correct aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd IP address.

If you (or someone else) has not set the password for the admin screen, the default for Linksys (the last I used one) was blank for the username and "admin" for the password, but again, RTFM. BTW, of you set up WEP security but left the admin login default, perhaps someone found your wireless and changed the key for you.

If all else fails, do a hard reset on the router and start over. "Hard reset" is not just a power cycle... there is usually reset button on the bottom or somewhere that requires a stylus (pen, paperclip, etc.) to push it... you usually have to hold it in for 30 seconds or more to cause the hard reset. This will take your router back to factory default settings for everything.

or

WZCOOK can be used to recover WEP keys from XP's Wireless Zero Configuration utility.

To run WZCOOK either:

Double click the wzcook.exe icon in the aircrack-ng-[version]-win\bin directory

At the command line run wzcook.exe from aircrack-ng-[version]-win\bin directory


P.S. I have no idea what this crap means. I just found it on the interwebs. GPS

menikmati
06-10-2009, 10:34 AM
yeah you should be able to access your router in your browser by 192.168.1.1 usually....of course you'll need to know your router username/password....by default on Linksys routers, they are admin/admin....but you may have changed those, and will have to remember it. If you're able to log into it, you'll see several tabs, one for wireless security, which will show the current settings (in this case WEP and the available password phrase and keys). If not, just reset the router and set up a new home network.

EDIT - I'm also assuming you have a linksys router of course.

JebusLives
06-10-2009, 11:49 AM
in a web browser try to visit http://192.168.1.1. If that doesn't work, try http://192.168.0.1.

For logging in, try the username "admin" with no password as that is the most common (for Linksys devices). Then go to the wireless security section and change the WEP password to something you can remember.

If you can't log in, you'll need to reset the router by holding in that reset button for at least 5 seconds. Then the default username/password should work.

Alchemy
06-10-2009, 12:16 PM
I don't know if this is the WEP key, but on the bottom of my router-thing that puts the internet on my computer (the thing with the lights that says if I'm online or if its broken), there are some numbers on the bottom... try putting those numbers in as the key. There may be more than one set of numbers. Try all of them. That's my key, at least.

JebusLives
06-10-2009, 12:19 PM
I don't know if this is the WEP key, but on the bottom of my router-thing that puts the internet on my computer (the thing with the lights that says if I'm online or if its broken), there are some numbers on the bottom... try putting those numbers in as the key. There may be more than one set of numbers. Try all of them. That's my key, at least.

That is probably not the WEP key. You choose a WEP key; it isn't hard-coded on the device.

The WEP key is a password to prevent neighbours from stealing your internet, and most routers don't even enable one by default.

Geno_g
06-10-2009, 12:21 PM
^Most of the time that is true, but usually you reset it to a password you will remember, and a user name, david try reseting your whole router and you might have to make a new user name and password...

How are you on the internet now david, are you stealing one of your neighbors internet, that what you get for copying my Macbook, and you got the pro you bastard, jk...

Mr.Nipples
06-10-2009, 01:41 PM
i wont go into the specifics but it was a fuck up on comcasts part, something to do with a file being improperly filled out which prevented me from even accessing my router through the browser following the instruction above. they fixed it and my fee's are waived for the month since i had a few other problems with my service that i wasn't to pleased about. thanks for the help folks, i appreciate it.

Wheres the beef?
06-10-2009, 01:43 PM
http://192.168.1.1
http://192.168.2.1

marooko
06-10-2009, 01:46 PM
you should have taken a sledge hammer to it.

Wheres the beef?
06-10-2009, 01:54 PM
you should change your sig

bug on your lip
06-10-2009, 02:04 PM
burn

gaypalmsprings
06-10-2009, 04:46 PM
WEPback

marooko
06-10-2009, 04:52 PM
you should change your sig

number 3 on the list. its just for you sweet tits. and the other two it seems to offend.

chairmenmeow47
06-10-2009, 04:55 PM
alchemy, you looked like marooko for a second there.