PDA

View Full Version : shows are too fucking expensive

psychoc&ndy
06-22-2008, 10:01 PM
10 dollar convenience charge on ticketmaster, fuck that. just paid 45 dollars to see hot chip, it better be worth it. how do you people see so many shows these days?

fatbastard
06-22-2008, 10:03 PM
45 bucks for chips is too exspensive.

Cdubby
06-22-2008, 10:04 PM
10 dollar convenience charge on ticketmaster, fuck that. just paid 45 dollars to see hot chip, it better be worth it. how do you people see so many shows these days?

i save up and go to festivals and see 20+ acts or pay to see acts that i absolutely fucking love which aren't too many (radiohead, mbv, beastie boys, primus, portishead, pixies). I honestly don't know how people bounce from coast to coast then over to europe to follow shows, but then again im a poor college student (for one more year).

anti-square
06-22-2008, 10:25 PM
Blame Cheney.

woogie846
06-22-2008, 10:26 PM
Ticketmaster truly sucks.

MarkO
06-22-2008, 10:27 PM
$43 for a fucking $32 JAMC ticket. :(

psychoc&ndy
06-22-2008, 10:45 PM
$43 for a fucking $32 JAMC ticket. :(

damn, how can you afford that lineup of shows you've got in your sig... must cost a fortune

betao
06-22-2008, 10:50 PM

buy tickets at the venue or other outlets if you can.

I recently bought by 2 day Virgin Mobile Festival pass..

I got it in person at a music venue in DC, and it cost me 179 (retail price is 175).

I checked TM online, and saw that it would have cost me 211. Ridiculous. Thats 36 bucks extra I have to pay.

Just buy at a venue if you can.

MarkO
06-22-2008, 10:54 PM
........ must cost a fortune

It does.

I make good money and I don't waste (much of) it. I brown bag my lunch, bring my own coffee to work, only have a 15min commute to work so don't spend much on gas. It helps. The biggest $ saver is not going to bars & clubs though. I'm beyond that now at 34. Still like my microbrews and good Whiskey though.

betao
06-22-2008, 10:58 PM
It does.