PDA

View Full Version : Moving to SoCal

JClemy
05-14-2008, 12:10 PM
I'm trying to decide whether I should teach somewhere overseas or move to the U.S. from up here in Canada. I've applied to get my B.ed but I'm not sure I'll be getting in. If not I figure I should do something interesting. I know a lot of you live in SoCal area so I was just wondering what the job prospects are like. I have my English Degree so I'm not totally uneducated. YAY

whynotsmile99
05-14-2008, 12:29 PM
jobs here suck. go teach over seas man, seriously. I've lived here my whole life and look forward to living somewhere for a while.

Teach in Europe/Asia. You see see new places of the world, meet fascinating people, probably spend a lot less money (if you go to asia that is).

I live in LA and its a pretty shitty time in LA right now, probably all over the US. Work is beyond tight in all markets, the economy here sucks, gas prices are ridiculous, it's packed with people and traffic is the worst its ever been and will only get worse.

Go teach in Bangkok or somewhere in China or Japan.

i've always wanted to do that. they dont pay much, but many supply you with boarding and other things

chairmenmeow47
05-14-2008, 12:35 PM
overseas. if you're worried about money, go earn some euros. if you want experience, do it NOW! they'll always be reasons to keep you from going overseas, and the longer you wait, the more reasons will pile up. i'd recommend doing that. if i didn't have a good job that paid for my education , i'd look abroad myself, even if it was just for a short period of time. the experience will be priceless.

picks up chair
05-14-2008, 12:52 PM
Agreed for jobs in most everything EXCEPT teaching in the US. There's (still) a huge need for more teachers. Gov Blunt (MO) just changed the reqs for teaching high school so that any working professional can teach (without a teaching degree). Of course, that's not soCal, but it kinda sums up how in need of teachers we are.