PDA

View Full Version : Rules for Cameras

clairmont
01-31-2007, 06:11 AM
On the rules page it says that you Are allowed to bring cameras as long as they are not proffessional (which means as long as they do not have a removable lens). How strict are they on this rule?? I have a Canon Rebel XT and it does have a removable lens. Will they allow this camera into the show??

hydrobomb
01-31-2007, 06:20 AM
I was wondering the same thing. I have a 35mm Canon EOS Elan IIe and was wondering if I'd still be able to bring it in.

kike_gavilan
01-31-2007, 08:17 AM
please take a look at

http://coachella.com/forum/showthread.php?t=802

menikmati
01-31-2007, 08:22 AM
Hello...any camera with a removeable lens is considered a "pro" camera, and therefore will not be allowed. Can you people not comprehend what that means?

frisbeee
01-31-2007, 11:06 AM
I am sure its possible to get in with one...getting caught though would suck when entering.

shmamber
01-31-2007, 11:31 AM
I am a photographer, and it always pains me to have to resort to my tiny point-and-shoot while at Coachella, but on top of having to sneak in my SLR, I would be so afraid it would be 1) crushed/broken, 2) stolen, 3) inundated with desert dust and Coachella funk that it would be compromised by the end of the festival. Plus, lugging stuff around sucks, and even having to worry about one backpack can be a real drag in that heat, or when you're dancing, etc!

I find that I really don't take as many pictures as I think I am going to take, either, because I am too busy enjoying the music.

nmaff
01-31-2007, 03:45 PM
chances are security doesn't know the difference between "professional" and "prosumer"

Melissa
01-31-2007, 07:05 PM
I took my Canon (with removable lens) in last year and security didn't question it. But it was a pain to keep up with and I didn't drag it along after day 1.
Just use your cell phone. The pictures will be bad, but they will be enough to remind you of how awesome it was in person!

fasttrack