PDA

View Full Version : First timer at Coachella

Marnie
02-25-2008, 12:01 PM
Hello Everyone,
So this is my first time to go to Coachella.Fill me in,better to camp onsite or get hotels?Is it wild n out of control camping onsite?How about the festival,whats the scene like?Any suggestions? I'm super xcited & just want to be sure I have the best Coachella experience.
Thanks!

vinceolson
02-25-2008, 12:35 PM
Hello Everyone,
So this is my first time to go to Coachella.Fill me in,better to camp onsite or get hotels?Is it wild n out of control camping onsite?How about the festival,whats the scene like?Any suggestions? I'm super xcited & just want to be sure I have the best Coachella experience.
Thanks!

Marnie,

I was a first timer last year. We camped. It was a fun experience, but it had a few drawbacks. The first night before the fest it was loud... LOUD until about 5am. Everyone was pumped up and ready, unfortunately the show didn't start til the next day. The people in the campsite are great tho. You meet a lot of great people just looking for a good time.

You will wake up at about 7:30 or 8:00 when your tent is an oven at about 130 degrees. You will open your tent and it will cool down to a modest 90 degrees. I recommend a pop-up or something for shade if you plan to camp, because any shady spot will most likely be taken by 400 other people who didn't bring something to shade them. The line for the showers will be long, but you shouldn't wait more than 30-40 minutes. The parties after the shows are fun because everyone just seems to group up, as they will, and play music (live and radio) and dance and be all drunk/drugged out until about 3-4 am when most everyone wants to get to sleep for the next day.

People will get exponentially less nice/accommodating as the weekend wears on, and you will most likely wish you had gotten a hotel/house. A hotel is nice but you'll have a hard time finding one about now. Check the lodging thread for that.

Hope this helps.

-V