PDA

View Full Version : Studying/listening project

bmack86
12-10-2007, 04:12 PM
I'm studying for a final tomorrow, and, A-La MountMcCabe, I'm instilling a listening project.

I started with the 1966-1968 Deram singles, and I'm going to listen chronologically to Bowie. All of his stuff. We'll see how far we get.

Deram Anthology was pretty forgettable. Most of the songs sounded like Mod knockoffs or quirky throwaways. I couldn't hum a single melody, and I just heard them. Space Oddity has started off much better, and i know that, as a whole, it's more entertaining.

Cpt. Funkaho
12-10-2007, 04:15 PM
This "listen to someone all day" thing seems to be taking off... I'm still waiting for someone to take it back to its roots and listen to Tom Waits all day long. Rue, I'm looking in your direction. You can amend for the errors of the past...

prettydirtything
12-10-2007, 04:18 PM
I'm studying for a final tomorrow, and, A-La MountMcCabe, I'm instilling a listening project.

I started with the 1966-1968 Deram singles, and I'm going to listen chronologically to Bowie. All of his stuff. We'll see how far we get.

Deram Anthology was pretty forgettable. Most of the songs sounded like Mod knockoffs or quirky throwaways. I couldn't hum a single melody, and I just heard them. Space Oddity has started off much better, and i know that, as a whole, it's more entertaining.
I dont know what your studying for (PS 510 at a state school for me) but it is being impeded by the following:

posting on this board
thinking about posting on this board
listening to music
analyzing the music you are listening to in the context of what kind of conversation possibilities it holds for your next posting on this board

think ambient noise: if you find yourself humming along you are automaically and uneccisarily taxing the limited and precious resource refered to as "focus"

prettydirtything
12-10-2007, 04:26 PM